التأثير على الأنظمة

تشارك Family League القادة وصانعي السياسات وتعلمهم وتتعاون معهم لإنشاء شبكة فعالة من فرص للأطفال والأسر في بالتيمور من خلال توصيات السياسة على المستويات المحلية والولائية والوطنية. نعتقد أن مشاركة البيانات تساعد في إحداث تغيير إيجابي ودائم لعائلات بالتيمور.â € <

نحن ندرك أنه من الأهمية بمكان التعامل مع عملنا من خلال عدسة المساواة العرقية. ال أداة تحليل الأسهم العرقية يدعم جهودنا للدعوة إلى تغييرات في السياسة بطريقة تخفف من تأثير العنصرية المتجذرة في الهياكل القائمة من خلال حساب مدخلات أصحاب المصلحة ، والعواقب غير المقصودة ، والقدرة التحويلية للأسباب الجذرية ، ومسائل التنفيذ في تطوير التشريعات.

أساس نجاح هذا العمل هو قدرتنا على التأثير في الأنظمة والدعوة لسياسة عامة قوية. تسترشد أولويات سياستنا لعام 2020 بنتائج ولاية ماريلاند الثمانية لرفاهية الطفل. تشمل مجالات القضايا ذات الأولوية العالية لدينا:


رابطة الأسرة تدعم سياسة تحقيق نتائج الولادة الصحية ؛ انخفض معدل وفيات الرضع والأمهات.

تدافع Family League عن سياسة تزيل الحواجز التي تحول دون الحصول على وجبات مغذية وتدعم البرامج التي تركز على أنماط الحياة الصحية.

تدعم Family League السياسة التي تتناول الدوافع الرئيسية لزيادة الاستعداد للمدرسة في رياض الأطفال.

أصدرت لجنة كيروان - الهيئة التي اجتمعت منذ أكثر من عامين لتحليل نظام التعليم في الولاية والتوصية بإصلاحه - تقريرها تقرير مؤقت في كانون الثاني (يناير) 2019. ويتضمن تفاصيل متعمقة لكل مجال من مجالات سياسة المفوضية. تدعم Family League العديد من التوصيات الموجودة في مجال سياسة التعليم في مرحلة الطفولة المبكرة ، بما في ذلك توسعات مراكز جودي ومراكز دعم الأسرة وبرنامج ميريلاند للرضع والأطفال الصغار ومرحلة ما قبل الروضة طوال اليوم لتشمل كل ثلاث وأربع سنوات - كبار السن.

ومع ذلك ، حثت Family League اللجنة على تجاوز نهج الحياد العرقي ، وبدلاً من ذلك ، توجيه التمويل والخدمات بطريقة تعالج آثار الفصل التاريخي والمعاصر. تضمن التقرير المؤقت الكثير من توصيات دكتور ايفوري تولدسون، مستشار تم جلبه لتقديم تحليل العدالة العرقية لعملهم حتى الآن ، ولكن لا يزال هناك عمل مهم. سيبدأ العمل الحقيقي بمجرد تقديم مشروع قانون كيروان ، مما يمنح المدافعين وصانعي السياسات الفرصة لمناقشة وتشكيل النتيجة النهائية لعمل اللجنة.

تدعم Family League السياسة التي تعمل على تحسين حضور الطلاب ، ودعم فرص التعلم الموسعة عالية الجودة وتحسين المناخ المدرسي.

لجنة الابتكار والتميز في التعليم (المعروفة باسم لجنة كيروانتم إنشاؤه بموجب تشريع في عام 2016. وهو يجمع ممثلين من جميع أنحاء الولاية لمراجعة نتائج دراسة مدى كفاية تمويل التعليم في ولاية ماريلاند ، والاستماع إلى الخبراء الوطنيين بشأن أنظمة التعليم ذات المستوى العالمي ، وتقديم توصيات لتحسين التعليم في ولاية ماريلاند من خلال التمويل والسياسات والموارد التي من شأنها إعداد طلاب ماريلاند "لمواجهة تحديات الاقتصاد العالمي المتغير ، وتلبية احتياجات القوى العاملة في الولاية ، والاستعداد للتعليم ما بعد الثانوي والقوى العاملة ، وليكونوا مواطنين ناجحين في القرن الحادي والعشرين. مئة عام." في هذا الصدد ، تدعم Family League نتائج الدكتور ايفوري تولدسون، الذي كان يعمل مع المفوضية لمتابعة عملها من منظور المساواة العرقية.

تدعو رابطة العائلة إلى سياسة تدعم خفض معدلات التسرب بين الشباب في سن المدرسة الثانوية.

تدافع Family League عن سياسة توفر الدعم لتنمية القوى العاملة التي تركز على الشباب.

تدعم Family League السياسة التي تضمن بيئات آمنة تسمح للأطفال والأسر بالازدهار.

تدعم Family League السياسة التي توفر وصولاً عادلاً إلى أجر معيشي وفرص للأمن الاقتصادي.

Influencing Systems

Family League engages, informs and collaborates with leaders and policymakers to create an efficient network of opportunities for children and families in Baltimore through policy recommendations at the local, state and national levels. We believe sharing data helps bring positive and lasting change for Baltimore families.

We recognize that it is critical to approach our work through a racial equity lens. The Racial Equity Analysis Tool supports our efforts to advocate for policy changes in a way that mitigates the impact of racism entrenched in existing structures by accounting for stakeholder input, unintended consequences, root-cause transformational ability, and questions of implementation in the development of legislation.

Foundational to the success of this work is our ability to influence systems and advocate for solid public policy. Our 2020 policy priorities are guided by the eight Maryland Results for Child Well-Being. Our high-priority issue areas include:


Family League supports policy to achieve healthy birth outcomes; specifically decreased infant and maternal mortality.

Family League advocates for policy that removes barriers to access to nutritious meals and supports programming focused on healthy lifestyles.

Family League supports policy that addresses key drivers to increasing school readiness by kindergarten.

 

The Kirwan Commission – the body that has been meeting for over two years to analyze and recommend an overhaul to the state’s education system – released its Interim Report in January 2019. It includes in-depth breakdowns of each of the Commission’s Policy Areas. Family League supports many of the recommendations found in the Early Childhood Education Policy area, including expansions of Judy Centers, Family Support Centers, the Maryland Infants and Toddlers Program, and all-day Pre-K to include all three- and four-year-olds.

However, Family League has urged the Commission to move beyond a race-neutral approach, and instead, direct funding and services in a way that addresses the impacts of historical and contemporary segregation. The Interim Report has incorporated much of the recommendations of Dr. Ivory Toldson, a consultant brought in to provide a race equity analysis of their work to date, but significant work remains. The real work will begin once a Kirwan bill is introduced, giving advocates and policymakers the opportunity to debate and shape what will be the final outcome of the Commission’s work.

Family League supports policy that improves student attendance, supports high-quality expanded learning opportunities and improves school climate.

 

The Commission on Innovation and Excellence in Education (commonly known as the Kirwan Commission) was created by legislation in 2016. It brings together representatives from across the State to review the findings of the Study of Adequacy of Funding for Education in Maryland, hear from national experts on world class education systems, and make recommendations for improving education in Maryland through funding, policies, and resources that will prepare Maryland students “to meet the challenges of a changing global economy, to meet the State’s workforce needs, to be prepared for post-secondary education and the workforce, and to be successful citizens in the 21st century.” In this regard, Family League supports the findings of Dr. Ivory Toldson, who has been working with the Commission to pursuing its work through a racial equity lens.

Family League advocates for policy that supports reduction in dropout rates among high school-aged youth.

Family League advocates for policy that provides supports for youth-focused workforce development.

Family League supports policy that ensures safe environments that allow children and families to thrive.

Family League supports policy that provides equitable access to a living wage and opportunities for economic security.